We are writing to you with information on the Triennial Election. A technical issue delayed some of the results for UAW Local 5810 – San Diego Joint Council officers. The list below represents all elected members of the San Diego Joint Council.

We are pleased to present you with the following list of newly elected UAW Local 5810 – San Diego Joint Council officers. As of the close of the nomination period at 5pm PDT on May 12th, 2021, no more than one (1) member accepted nomination for the following positions. The candidates, being UAW 5810 Local members in good standing, and having accepted nomination for uncontested positions, are automatically elected.

San Diego
Postdoc Unit Campus Chair: Tyler Bell
Postdoc Unit Campus Recording Secretary: Adam Caparco
Postdoc Unit Head Steward: Andreas Härer
Postdoc Unit Head Steward: Daniel Blatter
Postdoc Unit Head Steward: David Jekel
Postdoc Unit Head Steward: Carlisle S. Bascom Jr.

Academic Researcher Unit Campus Chair: Sonia Podvin
Academic Researcher Unit Head Steward: Priya Pantham

There is one contested position, and the election will proceed as planned on May 26th and 27th. The election will take place for the following Executive Board position:

  • AR member-at-Large:
    • Candidate: Benjamin Lynch
    • Candidate: Elliott Peterson

This election will only be conducted electronically. An invitation to a secret and secure ballot will be sent to each AR unit member from a secure online voting platform, on Wednesday, May 26th. Voting will close at 11:59pm (Pacific Time) on Thursday, May 27th.

In solidarity,

UAW 5810 Elections Committee – elections@uaw5810.org

Raul Rodriguez, UC Berkeley (Chair)
Elsa Abs, UC Irvine
Laura Bogar, UC Santa Barbara
Daniel Karmelic, UC San Francisco
Eric Kent, UC Davis
Lisa Schwarz, UC Santa Cruz
Daniel Velez-Ramirez, UCLA
Edoardo Zoni, LBL