During our session yesterday we presented six proposals to UC’s bargaining team. All are related to ensuring our rights as Postdocs are respected and are enforceable, including Grievance and Arbitration, No Strikes, Waiver, and Past Practice. Our proposals would  improve and streamline the grievance process, enabling faster resolutions to workplace issues, and would also ensure that our members have the right to organize collectively to address issues impacting them and their communities. Check out our full proposals in the tracker!

We reached a tentative agreement to maintain current contract language on several articles including Workspace and Materials, University Facilities and Services, Training, Severability, Personnel Files, and Labor-Management Meetings. However, continuing their theme from our previous session, UC again passed proposals on Job Abandonment and Voluntary Resignation which would weaken our job security. UC did not succeed when they tried to include these proposals in our last contract in 2016 and — once again — they will not undermine our rights

Our next bargaining session will be on Wednesday, August 11, from 2-4 pm. Member participation is encouraged!

Click here to get involved! Member participation is critical to winning a strong contract. The bargaining committee holds weekly meetings that are open to all Postdoc members. Please come to hear bargaining updates, push new issues, and deliberate on bargaining strategy. You can also get involved with our teams to work on fighting for issues you’re passionate about! If you’d like to get involved with the bargaining process you can reply to this email. To keep up with bargaining in real-time, follow us on Twitter @UAW5810!

In solidarity,

Postdoc Bargaining Team and Alternates
Sarah Arveson, UC Berkeley
Gilbert Bernstein, UC Berkeley
Chris Hart, UC Davis
Adam Schneider, UC Irvine
Zachary Zeidler, UC Los Angeles
Lejla Medzikovic, UC Los Angeles
Brad Barker, UC Merced
Ingrid Padilla Espinosa, UC Merced
Tyler Bell, UC San Diego
Adam Caparco, UC San Diego
Jade Moore, UC San Francisco
Putu Ustriyana, UC San Francisco
Caitlin Taylor, UC Santa Barbara
Heda Agic, UC Santa Barbara
Jacob Porter, UC Santa Cruz
Jasmeet Dhaliwal, UC Santa Cruz