We were back at the bargaining table with UC yesterday for another 4-hour session. UC’s team is still violating the law regarding bargaining over anti-bullying proposals. Once again they passed a proposal that would expire at an undisclosed time in the future when they decide to unilaterally issue and impose a systemwide policy. This clearly undermines the bargaining process and is the subject of an Unfair Labor Practice we filed in September.

UC’s highly-paid HR team also continued their condescending treatment to the Postdocs at the bargaining table, lecturing us on 1) why their salary proposal that includes pay cuts for many Postdocs is actually a good thing and 2) how Individual Development Plans work 🙄.

We passed a package of proposals on career development, and a proposal on Union Access and Rights that would help fix chronic HR errors by ensuring every new Postdoc gets a union orientation. Check out these and all the union and UC proposals in this tracker.

Thousands of Postdocs have already voted in the Strike Authorization Vote but we need everyone to vote YES to send the clearest message that UC’s unlawful behavior must end. If you haven’t yet voted in the Strike Authorization Vote, click below to vote!

Vote Here!

Finally, with our contract set to expire tonight at midnight, we proposed a 2-week contract extension to 11/29/21 that UC agreed to. You can read the signed agreement from UC in the proposal tracker.

In solidarity,
Postdoc Bargaining Team and Alternates

Sarah Arveson, UC Berkeley
Gilbert Bernstein, UC Berkeley
Chris Hart, UC Davis
Adam Schneider, UC Irvine
Tim Kodalle, LBL
Jesse Livezey, LBL
Zachary Zeidler, UC Los Angeles
Lejla Medzikovic, UC Los Angeles
Brad Barker, UC Merced
Ingrid Padilla Espinosa, UC Merced
Tyler Bell, UC San Diego
Adam Caparco, UC San Diego
Jade Moore, UC San Francisco
Anne Sapiro, UC San Francisco
Caitlin Taylor, UC Santa Barbara
Heda Agic, UC Santa Barbara
Jacob Porter, UC Santa Cruz
Jasmeet Dhaliwal, UC Santa Cruz

Follow your union on Twitter @UAW5810, and tell us why you’re voting #SAVyes!